Hannes Alfvén Prize

The prestigious Hannes Alfvén Prize of the European Physical Society for outstanding contributions to plasma physics, established in 2000, is awarded each year at the EPS Conference on Plasma Physics. The 2012 EPS Alfvén prize is awarded to Prof. Eugene N. Parker for his theoretical discovery of the transonically expanding atmosphere in cool stars as a basic phenomenon in the magnetic astrophysical cosmos and for the very high number of other fundamental results obtained by him in the theory of magnetized plasmas.

The Alfvén prize lecture is scheduled at Monday 09:10.


Landau-Spitzer Award on the Physics of Plasmas

This new award is jointly sponsored by the American Physical Society and the European Physical Society for outstanding contributions to plasma physics. The 2012 Landau-Spitzer prize is awarded to Prof. Sergey Anisimov of the Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics for outstanding contributions to plasma physics ranging from fundamental plasma theory to laboratory plasmas, controlled inertial fusion and astrophysical phenomena, particularly in the areas of laser interaction with plasma, plasma dynamics and stability, compressed matter and turbulence. The American and European Physical Societies bestow their 2012 Landau-Spitzer Prize to Prof. Sergey I. Anisimov for all these distinguished contributions to plasma physics and his prominence as an envoy of the Russian school of theoretical physics in Europe, the United States and internationally.

The Landau-Spitzer prize lecture is scheduled at Wednesday 08:30.


Innovation Prize

The European Physical Society is keenly aware of the important applications of plasma physics. As a dual gesture of stimulation and recognition, a new annual prize was created in 2008 by the Plasma Physics Division of the European Physical Society. This prize targets research which has demonstrably led to robust innovative applications or important effects on society. The 2012 EPS innovation prize is awarded to Dr. Eugen Stamate for the discovery of the modal and discrete focusing effects associated with three-dimensional plasma-sheath-lenses that contributed to ion beam extraction, mass spectrometry, control of the ion flux on substrates and the development of new sensors for plasma and sheath parameters.

The innovation prize lecture is scheduled at Tuesday 09:00.


IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Plasma Physics

The IUPAP Commission 16 Young Scientist Prize recognizes exceptional achievement in the study of plasma physics by scientists at a relatively junior stage of their career. The 2012 prize consists of 1,000 Euro and a Medal and Certificate. The 2012 IUPAP Young Scientist Prize is awarded to Dr. Ian Chapman of the Culham Centre for Fusion Energy.

The IUPAP Young Scientist Medal will be awarded at the opening session of the EPS/ICPP Plasma Physics conference and the lecture is scheduled at Thursday 17:45.


Ph.D Prize

The PhD Research Award of the European Physical Society was created in 2005. The EPS Ph.D prize is a key element of the EPS Plasma Physics Division activities to recognise exceptional quality of the work carried out by young scientists. Considering the diversity of top PhD research works in different plasma physics areas, a decision was recently made to award the EPS-2012 PhD Award to (in alphabetic order):´

Bart Hennen for his thesis on Feedback control for magnetic island suppression in tokamaks. He developed a new real-time feedback control system which finds, tracks, suppresses and/or stabilizes resistive magnetic instabilities in nuclear fusion plasmas. The system has been implemented on the TEXTOR tokamak. The results show the control of neoclassical tearing mode instabilities employing power modulated electron cyclotron current drive in rotating magnetc islands.

Frédéric Pérez for his thesis on Study of supra thermal electron transport in solid or compressed matter for the fast-ignitor scheme. His results show that in some experimental conditions the fast electrons can be collimated due to self-generated magnetic fields produced by resistivity gradients. This may have important implications for the feasibility of the fast ignition approach to inertial fusion.

Jochen Waskoenig for his thesis on Numerical simulations of the electron dynamics in single and dual radio-frequency driven atmospheric pressure plasmas and associated plasma chemistry in electro-negative He-O2 mixtures. These include electronegative gases, with as many as sixteen constituents and one hundred and sixteen different reactions taking place. Some comparison with experimental work with dual frequency RF plasmas has been made which establishes the basis for future work in this field.

The Ph.D prize lectures are scheduled at Tuesday 17:00-18:00.

Comments are closed.